An absurdity?


Question: In a country where females are prohibited from driving, should there be such a thing as a pink car?

Answer: Well much to my surprise (and various ex-pat friends who I’ve discussed this with),  I’ve laid witness to many.

Furthermore, I’ve stared aghast at pink SUVs, motorbikes and even a pink pickup truck!

I won’t venture into any “in my day…” diatribes and shall restrict my comments to the above.

But…

Bonus points goes to anyone who can correctly guess the link (in my head anyway) between the picture below and this whole post.

3 Comments

Filed under Questions

3 responses to “An absurdity?

  1. Sigh!

    I guess I was really testing my age by asking someone to recognize the orange thing in the picture.

    He was called Wordy and was a character in a kids’ TV program which helped teach you to spell. Sort of like a cheap UK version of Sesame Street back in the day.

    The Arabic word for pink is وردي (wardy)

    So, the link was: Wordy – wardy.

    Meh! Close enough to be linked in my mind.

  2. alistiqaamah

    I remember Wordy, but couldn’t figure the link.

  3. Yeah, it was a bit obscure.

    Incidentally, I recently obtained photographic proof that there are pink SUVs on the roads of Saudi.

Leave a Reply

