Learning the classics


latin_dictionary.jpg

“Teacher, do you know Latin?” my seven year old student asked me expectantly.

I thought, mā shā’ Allāh, his parents must have told him that the English language has roots in other languages.

“Yes, a lot of English words come from it.”

I said yes in the sense that I know of it, rather than I can actually read, speak or write any. I don’t want anyone here thinking I’m more of a book worm than I really am.

He seemed satisfied and having established that we were now on the same wave length proceeded:

“That boy, he make la’in for me *points at the child sitting at the desk behind his*”

La’in meaning to curse, i.e. “that boy cursed me!”

And there was me thinking I had a child genius on my hands.

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

